Higher Power.

If you are reading this, please click the  “Purpose” tab and read it to understand exactly what this blog is about. If you share this blog with others, have them also read the “Purpose” page. This is important to maintain the integrity of this website and to accomplish the goals of the same.

Our nation, every single day, requires that students in schools recite the pledge of allegiance. Well, I don’t actually know what happens anymore. Some schools require it, some allow students to remain seated if they believe differently, yada yada yada. As far as I know, it still mostly happens. This mundane, repetitive and often inconsequential start to each school day has been the subject of some fierce discussion. Why? Because in one obvious way, it is a statement of belief. We say “One nation, under God“. Interesting, isn’t it? Children beginning at age 5 are daily required to affirm their belief in a higher power. The pledge of allegiance shouldn’t cause any problems. It doesn’t define the God, state his (or her) name, or demand a particular form of worship. The end of the pledge itself defends its neutrality towards God.. with “liberty and justice for all”. Even if you don’t believe in God, you can believe in something, let’s say “science or reason”, call that God, and the pledge of allegiance is the same. “One nation, under <insert your understanding of God>, indivisible…”

When you recite the pledge of allegiance, though, no matter what God you believe in, you are affirming that there is a higher power. It’s “under God”, remember? Something is in control. Something, somewhere, governs us, even if you believe it is simply science.  I believe that there is a higher power. I believe it is a person, and even more so, I believe that that person is my Father. You may feel differently, but I think that the most endearing form of higher power imaginable is one that loves me perfectly, desires my happiness, and is constantly seeking to help me progress. I believe that He loves me, and that He knows me. I won’t even mention Him without using capital letters, just out of respect! I pray to Him, and I know He will answer. (Prayer will likely be next week’s topic, in case you were wondering).

What do you believe? What “higher power” do you serve? What is he/she/it like? How did you come to believe in that higher power? Can you think of an experience when you felt   that higher power’s presence in your life? Please share your comments below. Remember, every one who reads is encouraged to engage by stating what they believe below. No one will be ridiculed, argued with, or hated. (If your comments are of that nature, say goodbye to this blog:).  We are all here to learn, and to listen to what you have to say.

3 thoughts on “Higher Power.

  1. I believe in a higher power. And He has blessed my life tremendously. Everyone comment to begin the forum. This blog cannot accomplish its purpose of helping you understand yourself and others better in a civil and respectful manner unless you comment!

  2. i do believe in a Higher Power…i stand in awe everyday of this amazing world and know that, for me…there is a Creator. I give thanks to that Creator. i don’t always understand the destruction, starving, wars, and afflictions and losses of the world….but, i believe that there is more than meets the eye, and that faith is a neccessary tool for me. i believe that there is a purpose for me, and that nothing in my life is pure happenstance. that’s just a start…there’s so much more that i believe about my Higher Power…but, it’s so personal, that i’m a little unsure how to put those feelings into words, and even if i did…i’m not sure if i’d want to. it’s kind of like a prayer…or meditation…it’s personal…and i’m still searching and learning. i know that i am not alone. i believe that God and religion are separate….i believe that He is mostly interested in us having goodness and kindness in our hearts, faith in the unseen, love for one another, laughter, acceptance, forgiveness, and blue bell ice cream! (sorry, just kidding) i can get a little carried away! i needed to laugh!

  3. Loved Annie Lockhart’s final comment. Lots of things that are regarded as grave and serious have decidedly ridiculous overtones. This is not to denigrate the seriousness of another’s belief but, instead, to appreciate the light touch of spirit wherever it appears. My relationship with God doesn’t require me to use capital letters or bended knee. He certainly knows my heart and sees my attitude towards him. I’m not sure what God thinks about me or wants for me. But I think his expectations include my rethinking all encountered beliefs for myself, and conducting myself accordingly. I think that beliefs (being primarily what we are told or learn from people that we respect) become both the traditions that bind us together and the traditions that separate religions and groups. I think my beliefs about God, etc. are quite different from those sweet images formed in childhood when I first learned about them, and hopefully, they are more realistic. I think our beliefs, spiritual or political, are symbols of our own personal experience, viewed through the prism of our own unique understanding. I think our beliefs form the symbolic and figurative walls of our understanding much like stones in a cliff, and each may be considered as an aspect of teaching about the Realities of Life and, perhaps, reconfigured in our adult understanding to more appropriately express our comprehension of these Teachings at differing stages of life. Well, that doesn’t say a lot about what I believe, I realize, but I do believe everything is comprised symbolically of Wholes and Parts. And as a Part of the Whole I strive to pull my share of the load of making this a better world, I also realize I’m more comfortable saying “I think” than “I believe”. When I say “I believe”, I always ask myself, do I really think that? And I make sure I do. This is a lovely site and I look forward to participating in future.

What do you believe?

